Welcome to Gates McFadden Files, your online resource dedicated to the amazing Gates McFadden. Actress, director and choreographer, you may better remember Gates for her role of Doctor Beverly Crusher in the Star Trek franchise. But her career also dives into other projects on screen such as Marker, Franklin & Bash, Mad About You, Make the Yuletide Gay, The Muppets Take Manhattan, and on stage with Cloud 9, To Gillian on Her 37th Birthday, Voices in the Dark. This fansite is comprehensive of an extensive photo gallery with events, magazines, screencaps, an updated press library for articles and written interviews, and a video section for recorded interviews, sneak peeks, trailers. We are absolutely respectful of her privacy and proudly a paparazzi-free site!!!

This is going to be a big weekend for Star Trek at the Saturn Awards, with a total of 15 nominations, a franchise record. And the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror has announced the cast of Star Trek: The Next Generation will also be honored with an additional special award.

TNG cast awarded with special Saturn

The cast of Star Trek: The Next Generation will receive The Lifetime Achievement Award at the 51st Annual Saturn Awards, being held in Los Angeles this Sunday. For 2024 the Academy is doing something different for the TNG cast with this award. A statement from the Academy to TrekMovie explains:

“The Lifetime Achievement Award is usually presented to an individual for their contributions to genre entertainment. Top luminaries like Stan Lee and Leonard Nimoy, Mr. Spock himself, have received this top honor. It’s not new, but we extended this award to cover the entire cast of Star Trek: The Next Generation, due to its continued influence on the face of general television. It was originally doomed to failure since it was following in the footsteps of the original Star Trek, yet it carved its own identity, and its diverse cast was light years ahead of its time!”

Star Trek: The Next Generation launched as a syndicated drama series in 1987, running for seven seasons. TNG was nominated six times by the Saturn Awards for Best Genre Series, winning twice. Stewart also won for Best Actor in 1990. The series was also nominated for 58 Emmys during its run, with 18 wins. The Next Generation helped launch a new era of Star Trek, ushering in two additional TV series in the 1990s (Deep Space Nine and Voyager), along with 4 feature films.

The Saturn Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to the TNG cast by producer and Marvel Studios president Kevin Feige, who is an avowed Star Trek fan. On hand to accept the award will be Sir Patrick Stewart, Brent Spiner, Marina Sirtis, Gates McFadden, Michael Dorn, and Wil Wheaton. While not present, TNG cast members LeVar Burton and Jonathan Frakes are also being bestowed with this honor. Both actors had to send their regrets due to scheduling conflicts.


Claudia February 1, 2024